Bare-Naked Sacred Space

Clutter to clean-slate. Today I began the mighty task of cleaning up my altar space; but only after putting it off for as long as humanly possible, naturally. Oh the piles of burnt offerings and the spatters of candle wax were endless. Even for such a small space. And where the hell did all these crystals come from? I believe I admitted in my last post that it had been quite some time since I had even really visited my altar space.  My actual witch “crafting” has been on hiatus since summer but the evidence of what I’d been up to before remained.

I had full intentions of setting everything back up once I de-waxed and dusted everything, but then I hit a brick wall.  I don’t really want to put all of this shit back up there. I’m not even entirely sure what it was all doing up there to begin with. If ‘witchy dementia’ is a thing, then I’m definitely coming down with a case.

To me, an altar should be a place to focus on your craft.  A space dedicated to honing in on the energies that you work with and celebrate, and somewhere along the line I evidently forgot that. I think somewhere between the incense burner and the cauldron I lost my focus on what I was doing and why I was doing it. I imagine this can be a problem for a lot of witches.

So, for now, I’ve decided to leave my altar bare and open to the realm of possibilities. I want to give it a fresh start and really take the time to invest my energy into it. And not by throwing a literal shit-ton of rocks and candles on top of it for aesthetic purposes (which aesthetics for sure have their own place in witchcraft). I want this time to be different. Intentional. Focused. Calm and patient.  And for now, I intend to continue this project by the light of the full moon. Happy witchin’.

-M

witchandmoon

Leave a Reply

